Network Socket

Posted: 01/16/2012 in Cabling
Tags: , , , , ,
Image

What's inside a Network Socket?

Back to Basic!

We usually look for a Network Socket every time we need a “wired” Internet Connection (most are familiar with the name Internet Socket).

Network Sockets is the end point in a communication across a network, that’s what Wikipedia says.

I use to wire twisted pair cables, the EIA/TIA 568A or B Standard (the WoOWbBWgGWbrBr stuff!) but never I had experience wiring an Ethernet socket. How would the crimped cable work if there’s no network socket installed? Unless cables are directly connected to routers and switches! I saw this easy to follow instruction on ‘How to Wire an Ethernet Socket’. http://www.handymanhowto.com/2009/01/19/how-to-install-an-ethernet-jack-for-a-home-network/. The order of wires is basically  the same but the method of wiring them is different. It is really not an easy or should I mean a fast-to-do job, specially the cabling part. The technicians within my team usually do this network socket stuff. Well, If in case you want to wire a personal network socket, check the link and I hope it helps. 😉

Leave a comment